Daily Prompt: Come Fly With Me

(for the benefit of my regular readership, this was a class exercise using the Daily Prompt feature in wordpress, and this is in Daily Meanderings as it was on my mind all day…)

The farthest trip I took is not going to be about this story, as I usually traveled by car so I could have all the things with me that I wanted/needed.

So…this story is about the first trip I flew by myself with no one taking me to the airport or meeting me at the airport. It was truly an adventure of mine traveling alone. Now I traveled by car a lot by myself, but airports etc alone was a true adventure.

At this point I will fill you in on some details about me…I had polio when I was 2 ½, it left my left leg mostly paralyzed, and some issues with my right foot…I went from crutches to a brace and corrective shoes…then I was determined to advance without the brace and corrective shoes…they were heavy and ugly.

I did accomplish that and went for years on determination and a cane…I had an accident and fell down, shattered my knee and that resulted in a walker…so now at 73, I am using a walker and a small zippy scooter which folds in car, plane, ship etc very easily.

With that said, traveling by air is an adventure…but I wanted to go to Hawaii and air it was..some of my cousins were going and so it would be an opportunity that I wouldn’t spend my whole trip alone. I went first and then we all met up together. We all came from different directions.

It was truly an adventure landing in Oahu with scooter, walker and carry on, even tho I had researched it all out, had the layout of the airport etc etc, it was still an adventure.

Once I got to my hotel and took a deep breath…the four days I had by myself was the best…Oahu was flat and very scooter friendly and I was out all day zipping around, it was really fun.

If I have the chance to do it again…I would in a minute!

12 responses to “Daily Prompt: Come Fly With Me

  1. Enjoying your meanderings my friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. At 73 you can fly on your own! Hats off 🙂

    Anand

    Like

  3. Wow! You are truely adventurous! Hats off! 🙂

    Like

  4. And you shall have this opportunity to do it again and swim with dolphins new story! xo

    >

    Like

  5. Such an unforgettable time with wonderful memories. Loved every minute of it. Can you open this picture of flying dophins? https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150579873965951&set=pb.649235950.-2207520000.1440033446.&type=3&theater

    Like

Leave a Reply

