Let’s Talk About the Dates on Egg Cartons

egg-code-collage

I found this article on codes for the dates of the freshness for the eggs in the carton you purchase in the grocery store…the article is very good and also the blog has tons of great info so I am going to give you the link to it so you can check it out and maybe learn more info about fresh eggs and maybe even a small hen house in your own yard.

I am a real advocate of reading labels and knowing what is in my food, as I use food as medicine not just nourishment, it does take time and research but I feel so much better when I eat organic, local and non-GMO foods. Here are some pointers to know about:

Know what organic is and what foods can be considered organic; this does mean that sometimes you need to call the company ask questions and/or email them; definitely it is worth a trip to their website, see what kind of info they have and then when you call/email ask questions about some of their statements.  If they don’t say anything about organic and non-GMO you can count on them not having that part their products, they will not be organic etc.

Don’t trust the large food sources for what they say…do your research

Local foods resonate with your body better than out sourced foods, one of the exceptions of this is wheat…90% of the wheat, soy and other grains in the US is GMO and roundup toxic…ALL of the large food corporations of the US use these ingredients in their products…READ LABELS and do research.

If you have any questions about any specific item/product I will be happy to tell you what I know about them/it and/or do some research for you, I am just hitting the tip of the iceberg so to speak when i write these articles, I have done lots of research on products etc, so don’t hesitate to ask me.

This article on egg codes is very interesting and I encourage you to check it out, it just may be your introduction to the story of our food supply and how we need to get informed what we are consuming and putting in our precious bodies.

I only purchase Omega-3 cage free eggs with no hormones etc., but even then the farm fresh ones are better, all we can do is the best we can do, it would be great to be able to have farm fresh….maybe soon….soon has turned into my favorite four letter word….giggles

http://www.fresheggsdaily.com/2016/01/how-old-is-average-supermarket-egg.html

eggs2

11 responses to “Let’s Talk About the Dates on Egg Cartons

  1. This makes me feel guilty as I am careless when choosing products at the supermarket

    Like

  2. Really informative post, thank you! I’m unfortunately one of those who very rarely checks the date on eggs – had one hatch once 😁 – no not really but I tend to use regardless – bloody miracle my family survive my kitchen disasters!

    Like

  3. Wouldn’t it be nice to “go out back” to our hen house ad collect eggs daily of course without any of the work involved! 🙂 🙂 Again, thanks for the wonderful info!! xo

    Like

  4. Wow we have to be so careful and read labels for sure! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

